Shami Chakrabarti and Lord Jonathan Evans among speakers announced for the 2018 Bristol Law Conference



Shami Chakrabarti, Shadow Attorney General and former Director of Liberty and Lord Jonathan Evans, former head of MI5, are amongst speakers announced for the 2018 Bristol Law Conference on the 16th February.

The Bristol Law Conference began in 2013 and is entirely organised by a student committee, This year's theme is terrorism, with the title 'Age of Terror'. Although the event approaches the theme from a legal perspective, students from all disciplines are welcome to attend.

Other speakers include David Feldman (QC, Professor of Law at University of Cambridge), Nazir Afzal (former Chief Crown Prosecutor) and Dr Cian Murphy (a law lecturer at Bristol).

The day will consist of talks, workshops, an afternoon panel event and a networking lunch.

Speaking to Epigram, the committee said: 'Last year’s event was a great success, with hundreds of students attending from a variety of Universities across the country. Our theme was Brexit, which is undoubtedly one of our countries greatest legal and political issues for generations.

'We were thrilled to have Gina Miller, the figurehead of the momentous Supreme Court case, join us to relay her account and views, along with many others. We look forward to building on last year’s success and creating a memorable and enjoyable event for all our attendees.

'We encourage students from all subjects and backgrounds to attend as it will provide an opportunity, not only to widen your understanding of terrorism and its effects but to give your essays and applications an edge. This event will be a thought-provoking and fascinating overview of, what can be, a difficult and contentious topic to write about.'

The event is being held in Wills Memorial Building from 10.30am. Conference rickets are free of charge, but places are limited so reserve a ticket on the event's Eventbrite page.

Will you be attending the conference? Let us know:

Facebook // Epigram // Twitter


Alex Boulton

Editor in Chief 2017-18, Online Style Editor 2016-17. History student.